top of page

Happy Fall


TEACHING

I am teaching the Mystery of History Curriculum to our Missionary Kids. The curriculum does a great job connecting Biblical truth and stories with other stories happening at the same time around the world! We have 20 missionary kids from 1st to 7th grade. I have the opportunity to be in the classroom with these kiddeos daily.


To be honest when I first found out I would be teaching history I struggled. (I let my feelings lead the way.) History wouldn't have been my first choice, but can I tell you God has been working in this heart of mine and where at first I was just putting on the smile trying my best to believe this was God's plan A, now I am not just forcing that smile, but am actually thankful! It has been a joy and I have been learning a lot, not just learning facts, but deepening my understanding and knowledge of Biblical truth and stories.

One blessing of teaching this curriculum is that it so easily sets up the stage for conversations of Biblical truth. It has been a joy and privilege to be able to have a number of deep conversations and answer questions as we dig into history.


We learned about Pompeii. If you are not familiar it was a Roman city that was destroyed by a powerful volcano. So what do you do, when learning about a volcano, of course you have to make one!


We also learned about Masada a great fortress that Herod the great is known for expanding and living at for a short time. When talking about a fortress you just can't miss the opportunity to build a fort... right? We learned the Zealots (Jews that were on the run from the Romans) found it and lived there for a while, until the Romans found out. The Romans found out and built weapons and a big ramp for the attack. The lego structures below are models of those weapons (the assault tower and battering ram). Unfortunately this story has a very sad ending, but it opened up the door for us to talk about a number of Spiritual truths.


We have had the opportunity to learn about several martyrs of the faith and many Christians who were persecuted during the early church.


Each or our 4th, 5th, 6th, and 7th graders wrote a report on these faithful Christ followers.


One of the parents (fellow missionaries) asked me, Jade are you teaching about persecution by chance .. and have you taught about the catacombs? I answered yes hesitantly. He then paused laughed and said I have a story for you. He proceeded to tell me about his daughter, who is a first grader in my class and how he overheard her yelling to her older sister, "Stop persecuting me or I will send you to the catacombs." After a good laugh I paused and was thankful the terms were sticking in their head!



BATEY

I have the opportunity to go out to the bateys (villages) once a week. Even though they (the children) are unable to come to us, we have permission at this time to go to them as long as we stay in small groups, keep our masks on, and don't do any formal classes. We have had the opportunity to deepen relationships and have gospel conversations with those of all ages in the villages during these visits.


PAINTING

The paint life also continues, although now only for a small portion of my day. Progress on the apartment buildings is encouraging! The inside of the apartments are finished except for final touches and we have started painting the outside of the building! There is just something fun about painting fun colors!



Hanging with the Interns

Beach Day with the interns!


Celebrating (my roomies) Interns Birthdays!


Our interns are making a difference! They are a vital part of our MK (missionary kid) school, impact the community during the batey visits, and help with construction of the school! We are so thankful for those the Lord have sent our way! We are always looking for more to join our team and partner with us in ministry! Know of anyone interested send them our info!




D.R. LIFE

I had my first Mangu. Mangu is a Dominican dish. It is smashed up plantains, tastes a lot like mashed potatoes! I approve!


My personal count of tarantula sightings continue to grow :).


The Dominican Republic got its first Starbucks, which is about a hour and a half away from where I live. A friend I went to check it out, we only waited in line for 40 minutes or so, no big deal! :).



Prayer Requests

  • SCHOOL - School Update - School hasn't started in the country yet. The government's plan is to start online school (for all public schools) on November 2nd. In class school at this time is prohibited. They have committed to giving every child a laptop and are working toward providing internet for all. We are waiting to see if this goal is met by the deadline they set. We believe it will be difficult if not impossible for these goals to be met for the kids in the bateys (villages), which are the kids that we minister to. We continue to pray toward and have meetings with the department of education to get an exception for our kids. We have plan A, B, and C regarding different options, procedures and policies if we are able to have school. Even if we were able to have a portion of our kids every other day, we would be delighted to have that dedicated time with them in the school! We continue to trust this is God's plan A and serve in the ways we can at this time, but our hope is to be able to have our kids back on campus!

  • INTERNS - As I mentioned before, our Interns have a lot of responsibility. Will you pray for strength, energy, and encouragement for those here serving. Will you also pray for the future interns to come. We are always looking for interns to join our team!

  • FAMILY - I am so thankful to be here, but lately it has been hard being away from family.

  • THOSE MISSIONARIES IN THE STATES RAISING SUPPORT TO JOIN OUR TEAM



What are teachers doing now?.. What about our sponsors?.. What about School?..


Great Questions!!

bottom of page