top of page

6th Grade Spotlight and More

Soo many things can happen in a few months time ... Here we go :)


Parent teacher Conferences - 2nd Quarter

We went out to the bateys (villages) to meet with parents and share each students progress.


Wedding Bells

My friend Nicole got married and I had the privilege of being in her wedding. Richard her husband actually teaches at our school, Freedom.


Parent's Visit

What a blessing to have my parents come and visit. They got to see a little more of Dominican life, culture and ministry here at Freedom.


Happy (D.R) Independence day!

A little Dominican History:


"Before gaining their independence the Dominican Republic experienced an unstable history of occupation by Spain, France, Spain again, and Haiti."


"Dominican Republic is one of the few countries in the world that have fought and won their independence more than once. Haiti remained in power for 22 years, until February 27th, 1844, when Dominicans finally won their independence for good."


Sixth Grade

I have had the opportunity to work with our 6th grade classroom quite a bit the past few months, helping with some staffing transitions, training and tag teaming with teachers. Belkis and Yuneisi are our 6th grade teachers and we have 28 students in the classroom.

Man oh man has the Lord grown my heart for this crew. They are probably one of the hardest classes we have in the school, but they have my heart. Working in the classroom by modeling teaching, discipline, and classroom management, tutoring kids one on one, and grading papers when teachers get behind are just some of the ways I have been involved with this grade. They have driven me to the point of tears, and I have reached levels of frustration I didn't know I had, but they have also brought me laughter and smiles. Even though many days are hard, I see so much potential. I see kids who need Jesus, structure, encouragement, consistent discipline, and a whole lot of love.

JIMA and JIOMA (pictured above with me) are twins in the class. The Lord has drawn my heart to them. They know how to push all the buttons, but as our relationship grows and trust is built I see so much potential. They have been attending a local church in town. Would you pray that they may know Christ more.


WILFRED just had a birthday and is always eager to give an answer, which sometimes gets him in trouble as he often forgets to raise his hand.


I had the opportunity to work with and tutor MARIA ESPERANZA one on one during COVID shutdown. She is one of our lower students, but she also is one that struggles to actually pay attention. She has a beautiful smile, loves to draw, and lives in a near by batey.

EDDY who was one of our lowest students as he entered our school only a few years ago is starting to excel in math. From F's to B's. He still has a ways to go, but it has been a blessing seeing the smile on his face and drive to continue to learn and improve.

MAILENI, FLOR, & DIOSMARY are all ones who accepted Christ or expressed interest in knowing more the last camp we did over a year ago.


I could tell you stories and character traits for each of these students... Each made in the image of God. Many who need the Lord. One 6th grader recently wrote me a card and shared that I was like a mother to her.

I don't always have time to work one on one with our lower kids, but man is it a joy to be able to have those light bulb moments, those glimmers of hope that they are paying attention, and they are grasping some of the truths and lessons we are teaching. Although it is exciting to see the kids understand the different content areas in the classroom, my heart even more wants to see them know Our Savior as their own. In many ways even though we are a Christian school we have the audience of a public school, not only the students but their families as well.


Will you join me in prayer for our 6th graders. Prayer for the teachers (Belkis and Yuneisi) as they grow and seek to best lead the class, for me as I do my best to encourage and equip the teachers, and the students, that they may know Jesus. Pray for encouragement for our staff as it can be a heavy load to bare and can feel defeating at times, that we may cling to truth and that the truth will give us perseverance and wisdom to best know how to lead, love, discipline and tie Biblical truths in throughout it all.


My crew

Our fourth, fifth, and sixth grade teachers :)


Highlights from our 4th and 5th grade classrooms to come in future newsletters.


We are still in the "Freeze" status and re-evaluating different aspects of the ministry. Continue to be in prayer for our team and the ministry as we reevaluate and refine. :)


Thank you for your prayers and support!


bottom of page