top of page

A Whirlwind

So much has happened over the past few months ... I don't even know where to start ...

I purchased a car! God's timing is perfect, as having wheels during the camp season to be able to transport things back and forth proved to be a huge blessing!

Before camp started we went out to the villages to connect with all the parents and tell them about camp and answer their questions. Not all of our parents have phones and/or cell service, and many of our parents struggle to read, so making a phone call or sending home a note isn't quite sufficient as camp is still such a new experience for our kids and parents.

While we were visiting came across a family making a meal for their family...

Next Step - Training and moving camp supplies out to camp!

Our first week long overnight camp was with our 5th and 6th grade boys.

Our theme was - Who am I? ... Truths and Lies about who God created me to be.

We continue to drill into our kids that we find Truth in the Bible. We also continue to learn our books of the Bible and practice finding different references/truths in His Word.

For most of our kids devotional time and critical thinking is such a new concept. So we continue to come alongside of our kids and help them learn this beautiful discipline.

Our second week of overnight camp was 5th & 6th grade girls!

Teambuilding activities are a bit stretching for our kids. Critical thinking and working with the team's interest in mind is still quite difficult for our kids. Yelling, arguing, pushing, staying focused on the challenge and wanting to give up are common occurrences during our teambuilding times. We continue to walk with our kids through these challenges and use these activities for teachable moments!

Our third week of camp was our 3rd and 4th grade boys. This week was by far the most challenging as we dealt with a number of behavioral problems throughout the week.

This week overlapped with their independence day. What better way to start of independence day then with blue pancakes. (As you can see their flag is also red white and blue, so we topped off our blue pancakes with a little whip cream and a strawberry.) It is Dominican tradition that on Independence day schools go out and have a "march" (parade). So we went out with the school to a few bateys (villages) for the march. (If you are interested click here for a short compilation video of the march)

Each week we also had a "fogata" (bonfire) and of course with every bonfire "should" come with smores. Our kids love smores! For some of our kids this was only their 2nd time ever having this tasty treat. The first being during fall camp.

Our last week of camp was our 3rd and 4th grade girls. This was our third graders first time experiencing camp. Although we had camp all week (day camp) for this age group they only spent the night 2 nights, which proved to be just the right amount for our first timers!

After chapel and devo time we would divide into small groups to further discuss the truths presented and answer any questions the kids had... With God's strength and a lot of grace from my campers and camp staff I was able to teach chapel in Spanish (and by teach I mean read my notes in Spanish) :).

"Deberes" or Chores were a part of our everyday camp experience. After each meal our campers took turns washing the dishes, sweeping the floor, and wiping down the tables. Each dinner we would count up each team's points (which were earned by good behavior throughout the day and during our Bible Trivia Game) and the winner would get extra free time and didn't have to do chores for the evening.

A few extra photos of some of the fun during camp

SUMMING IT ALL UP

Wow that is a hard task to do. I LOVE CAMP! I love the opportunity it provides to build relationships ... to live life with people ... to teach and disciple ... to laugh ... to experience firsts. But man is it hard at times. Overall I think camp went great, I believe we were able to reach our goal of providing an environment that cultivated reflection and intentional living from a Biblical perspective.... But that is not without a lot of prayer, a great team, a BIG God, a lot of sweat, and definitely some tears.

In the pictures above you have seen many of the "highlight" moments, but ...

I don't have pictures of the countless conversations I had with kiddos due to behavioral issues, or taking pee filled sheets off beds, or waking up in the middle of the night and walking kids to the bathroom because they were scared, or cleaning up throw up, or of talking with the group about stealing issues, or the hundreds of trips taken to bring supplies for chapel, games, or other activities from storage to the area needed and back again, or the cockroach in my bed, or of watching kids pack up their belongings because they were asked to leave due to behavioral problems, or me stumbling over my words, pronunciation or not knowing how to express what I desired in Spanish.......

I also don't have a picture of some of the beautiful conversations and teachable moments that happened due to some of the above circumstances.

I don't have a picture of the opportunity I had to connect with a camper named Marcia who struggles at school, this opportunity came daily and was definitely provided by God. She had a significant wound that needed care and attention. I believe because I was able to care for and nurture her, she opened up more to me. She saw my caring as an act of love. One of my teachers sent me this text in the middle of the week after a brief interaction with her while we were getting food for camp.

"Marcia is one of my most difficult students. I saw her just now getting food. She lit up and smiled to see me and gave me a hug. I know it's the Lord's work, but also the change of pace."

I can't say Marcia was perfect at camp, but I would say she definitely thrived in the camp setting. A new side of her came to surface and I am excited to see how God continues to work in her.

One highlight I have that I do have have captured (via video) is of our kids hiding God's Word in their heart! We call our memory/theme verse a "Chequeo de Verdad" which means truth check. This term again is helping our campers/students understand that the place they can find truth is in God's Word! Our Chequeo de verdad was Salmos 119:129-133 also known as Psalm 119:129-133. Here it is in English:

Psalm 119:129-133

129 Your statutes are wonderful; therefore I obey them. 130 The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple. 131 I open my mouth and pant, longing for your commands. 132 Turn to me and have mercy on me, as you always do to those who love your name. 133 Direct my footsteps according to your word; let no sin rule over me.

Check it out here, of course there are motions to go with it! :)

Well folks that is life up until camp. But since camp a lot has happened as well, my responsibilities and schedule have shifted some and then again with some of the latest restrictions the virus has provided. I plan to send another update with more details about these latest changes and a few more camp stories. If you want a few more details of some of our most recent changes (right now) feel free to check out Freedom's latest ministry update here.

Our God is good!

THANK YOU for all of your prayers and support!

bottom of page