top of page

Happy Thanksgiving

Fall Camp Ends ... Planning for Spring Camp Begins

Since the last newsletter we have had camp for our 4th and 5th graders. Here are a few highlights from those weekends.

This is still one of my favorite times during camp.

For so many of our kids the concept of setting time aside to study God's Word by themselves is still foreign. It is exciting to be a part of the process of helping them develop, practice and learn this discipline! We have been singing the books of the Bible and doing sword drills as well, as we try to help our kids know God's word better!

Some of my favorite pictures from the weekeneds.

Fun fact the word photo/picture in spanish is fotografía (or foto) .... not pictura as I often say incorrectly ;o)

Bonfire / Fogata.

Such a fun time sharing these firsts with our kids! I haven't been able to find a word for smore yet in Spanish. I am told it is probably sándwich con galletas, chocolate, y malvavisco, which translates to a sandwich with cookies, marshmallows, and chocolate. A few missionaries and I were thinking we should make the name amas for it because in English you want "some" "more" so if you were to translate that literally it would be algo mas, so we are thinking we may call it amas. What do you think?

More Camp Fun.

Behind the Scenes.

Now that fall camp is over what is next? .... Great Question!

We hope to do four full weeks of camp for our kids (3rd grade - 6th grade) this Spring. I am excited about this, but at the same time my mind goes straight to all the details that are yet to be figured out. Thankfully there are a few months so we can pray and plan for this time!

One big difference for our Spring Camp is we will have our multi use building!! Having bathrooms and a storage area is going to make such a big difference. Take a look at some of the progress with this building

Here is a reminder of what it looked like just two months ago

Now we have walls, a storage area, and bathrooms forming! What a praise!

OTHER FREEDOM HAPPENINGS.

In the Classroom

Did you know camp is only once aspect of the ministry going on here at Freedom. Our teachers have the blessing and opportunity to invest in our kids daily.

Parent Teacher Conferences

We go to the bateys (villages) to do parent teacher conferences as many of our parents do not have a way to get to the school. We go to them, tell them how their kids are doing in school, and share the good news of Christ when we have the opportunity!

CONSTRUCTION

Always, Always, Always .... It seems we are always building something. Right now here are just a few of the big projects happening on campus. 1) Camp Multi Purpose Building 2) Mechanic Shop & Bus storage area 3) New Missionary Apartment Buildings 4) Entrance and Storage area for Campus .... ohh yea and the school :)

Exciting News

A donor has offered up $50,000 matching gift that we’d sure love to see doubled! As you can see we have many construction projects going on now. We build at the rate that God provides the funds... If you’d like to give a one-time donation to help with construction, follow the link (https://itisforfreedom.com/invest/donate.html) and add “Match It!” in the comment section.

Happy Belated Thanksgiving from the Freedom Family

As a Freedom family we all got together and celebrated Thanksgiving! In case I don't tell you enough, please know I am so very thankful for you ... for your prayers, financial support, and encouragement!

PRAYER REQUESTS --------------------------------------------

WISDOM

  • As we tweek and develop our camp discipline policies

  • As we train the Dominicans helping with camp

  • As I plan and create the theme and lessons for Spring Camp

  • As I plan the activities, games, and schedule to partner with the theme

  • As I learn how to best adapt camp for our kids here

  • As we invest in, build relationships with, and have conversations with the kids the Lord has given to us

LANGUAGE

  • Praise as I am beginning to see some progress in this journey

  • Continued prayers for perseverance and diligence as I study, as well as wisdom in how I spend my time studying

  • To be honest this is one of the areas (language learning) I often get discouraged in. I know it is one of the biggest keys to being able to invest in our kids in a deep way, and I so dearly want to be able to communicate with them in this way! Will you pray that I will have peace and rest in God's timing along this language learning journey?

  • During Spring Camp I have the opportunity to teach in Spanish. It will be challenging, and I don't feel quite ready for it. Will you pray specifically for these future teaching times, that God will use me despite my inadequacies.

  • Also come Spring Camp there will be times when I will be working with only Dominican helpers. I love working with my brothers and sisters in Christ here, but at times communicating can be a struggle (without a translator). I know this time will be very good for my language learning as I will literally be fully immersed in Spanish, but I know it will also be difficult. Will you pray for these potential future struggles. I trust God knows exactly what He is doing and I trust He has me here and wants to use me despite of my struggles.

MATCHING GIFT

  • Praise that God has provided a donor to give a matching gift and that $4,000 of the $50,000 goal has come in

  • Prayer that God will bring others to join in this giving challenge

  • Prayer that we will trust in God's provisions and use them as wisely as possible

NEW MISSIONARIES

  • We have two missionary families that will be joining us in the next few months. Will you pray for them as they transition to the Freedom family and mission field here?

  • We have a few other families in the middle of the support raising process. Will you join me in uplifting them in prayer?

Thank you again. Please know I am thankful to have you a part of my team, a part of the ministry here! Your prayers truly make a difference!

bottom of page