top of page

D.R. Trip

What a blessing to have been able to make a trip to a place I love. If you didn't know I was in the D.R. this past week. I was able to see what ministry and life look like in the summer months and show my pastor and his wife the ministry, as they were here for a few days!

As I arrived with my luggage, it was exciting and weird to think the next time I would be traveling here it would be for good and with a bit more luggage :).

Here is a little of what the week looked like (on the front lines)

Mornings - (M,W,F) 1st through 5th graders come for English Camp and (T,Th) Pre K 3 - Kindergarten come for English Camp. Both camps divide into small groups and rotate through different stations with activities helping them to learn English.

Lunch - Lunch is served for the students/campers and missionaries

Afternoon - (M,W,F) 1st through 5th graders transition to Bible Camp, where there is a Bible lesson, time of singing, and games. (T,Th) Pre K 3 - Kindergarten go home and the mission trip teams go to a few different bateyes where they lead VBS for the kids of the village.

The team then eats dinner together and attends the team meeting, where the mission trips team members participate in singing through worship, a message from God's Word and have a time to debrief the day.

There were also many, many things happening behind the scenes throughout the day. Here are just a few pictures of my time there this time.

Pictures from the Bateyes - Sugar Cane Villages where we did VBS

*Middle picture is the church located in that specific bateye

Around the school -

*Top Left - Things get dusty pretty fast with dirt roads and construction around | *Bottom Right- Construction is a consistent part of ministry here now. The school is currently a little over 1/3 of the way built. The goal is to have the school half way built by the end of 2019 | *Other - Pictures of Stations during the English Camp

Bible Camp in the afternoon

*Left - Games in the field | *Right - Relay Race in Action

Pastor Brad and Sherry Brandt (from Wheelersburg Baptist Church) were able to come see and help serve for a few days at Freedom International Ministries.

It was a joy being able to show them my future home and talk through some ministry strategies and philosophies.

I'd love to share more with you about the trip if you are interested! Even though there is still more ahead in the journey before I arrive, I am so excited to join this team and ministry! I am currently at 24% support raised. Thank you for your prayers along the way!

bottom of page